Glenns Ferry Historical Museum

Location: 200 West Cleveland, Glenns Ferry
Phone: (208) 266-7706
The Glenns Ferry Historical Museum is committed to preserving the rich heritage of the Glenns Ferry, Hammett, and King Hill areas. The museum building itself is a significant piece of history. Opened in 1909, the sandstone structure served as the area school until 1965. In 1987, the schoolhouse was named to the National Register of Historic Places and became the local museum shortly thereafter. Inside, visitors will find exhibits on topics such as early Native Americans, pioneer life on the Oregon Trail, memorabilia from the Oregon Shortline Railroad and King Hill Irrigation Project, as well as numerous school and household artifacts. As part of its mission, the museum also serves as a source for historic printings, including old newspapers, letters, journals, and other documents important in tracing one’s genealogy. The museum is open from 12 PM to 5 PM on Fridays and Saturdays from June 1 to September 30 with no admission fee.

Home | Free Brochures | Bookstore | Idaho Travel and Vacation Planner | Idaho Real Estate and Relocation Information | Idaho Tour

Copyright ©2010 New Times Media Corporation - All Rights Reserved